Next Steps

Now that I’m done with the LFC maps and Primus is slowly trucking along I’ve started thinking about what I’m going to do next.

Finishing Primus is a priority but I’ve been running into some issues caused by a lack of knowledge on how things in Black Ops 3 work. There is no documentation that I can find and scripting tutorials for BO3 Mod tools are almost entirely zombies focused. I’m having some trouble figuring out how to create the scripting required to get certain things working, such as aerial score streaks. I’ve investigated the example map Combine, so I know what entities to use and what user-defined KVPs to add, but I still feel like I’m missing a lot of context around what the chains they’re placed in do specifically and what their purposes are.

To explain further, so far I’ve added  around 5 different entity chains to the level which I can only assume are related to aerial score streaks. I’m presently either recreating the chains based off of what I am seeing from Combine or copying them directly, and so far all score streaks aside from the Wraith, the Mothership and Raps work. I’m assuming these last three score streaks are dependent on the last chain I have to add, but when I add this chain and compile I can no longer start the map, instead experiencing an infinite load screen. Clearly something is wrong, but I’m still unsure as to what and am currently trying to isolate the problem within this chain specifically.

troublemaker
The troublemaker.

Aside from this though it’s been smooth sailing. The optimisation is about as complete as I can make it and I’ve done additional polishing to make gameplay in some areas a bit more smooth and natural. My next major steps after figuring out the score streak scripting issues are to fix up and create more nodes for bots and to go through the process of creating a mini-map (a guide was provided, thankfully). I also might see what other game modes I could include, but at the moment the above things are my priority.

In other news, I’ll be starting a new project alongside Primus. I’ve been thinking about what to make over the past week and have come up with a number of ideas, and have ultimately decided to continue working on a Half-Life 2 level I started around the beginning of MinimalismVille. It will have the aesthetic that I came up with for my alternate version of what ended up as Abstraction (and ultimately was used for LF5), but with gameplay elements proposed in my LDD of my level for BridgeVille, a project which was never truly started as I decided to continue to learn Radiant to work on Primus instead.

20170522173226_1
An older picture of my alternate idea from the day I did Minimalismville. My new level will be sharing this aesthetic.

That’s all I have for now, have a great day folks.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

